The Oil and Gas Industry: An Overview of Their Current Reality and Our Resistance to It, Part 2

Date: 
May 18, 2017 - 3:00pm
Sponsor: 
Climate Reality Check
On Your Phone Your Town, PA
United States

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdJbZx5fE...

On Thursday, May 18th at 3 pm Eastern / 2 pm Central / 1 pm Mountain / 12 noon Pacific time, the Climate Reality Check team will hold the latest in our series of national conference calls to help strengthen community organizing on climate, entitled:

The Oil and Gas Industry: An Overview of Their Current Reality and Our Resistance to It, Part 2

RSVP for the call here.

As our April call focused on gas, this month we deep dive into oil. The oil industry is ubiquitous and powerful. But the oil industry is also struggling because of the fast changing dynamics of supply and demand, where supply has kept oil prices low for almost three years, while growing popular resistance has raised oil subsidies, oil lobbying, and the rise of renewables to the forefront of America’s public discussions.

Our guests this week will address the landscape of supply and demand of oil in this country, and the campaign landscape challenging Big Oil.

This call, on Thursday May 18th at 3pm ET/12 pm PT, will help activists understand the finances and underpinnings of the oil industry and the growing movement to keep fossil fuels in the ground by stopping the infrastructure the fossil fuel industry needs to survive.

Our presenters on May’s call will be Tom Sanzillo and Kendall Mackey.

Even if you can’t make it on May 18th, please register to receive a recording of the call.

Bios of our presenters:

Kendall Mackey is the keep it in the ground campaigner at 350.org. She’s spent the last 6 years organizing with communities against oil pipelines in the Great Lakes region, the Northeast, Keystone XL and Dakota Access

Tom Sanzillo is the Director of Finance for the Institute for Energy Economics and Financial Analysis (IEEFA). Tom has 30 years of experience in public and private finance, including as a first deputy comptroller of New York State, where he held oversight over a $156 billion pension fund and $200 billion in municipal bond programs. Tom’s expertise ranges from understanding the balance sheets of the world’s largest oil companies, to utility debt, to clean energy financing. IEEFA has been a valuable ally in helping activists understand the fossil fuel financial landscape. http://ieefa.org/bios/ and